Home News & Publications Commissioner to talk small business in regional Victoria’s north east

Commissioner to talk small business in regional Victoria’s north east

Victorian Small Business Commissioner Lynda McAlary-Smith will be visiting Mitchell Shire, Rural City of Wangaratta and City of Wodonga to hear more about the issues impacting local small businesses and raise awareness of available supports.

Commissioner McAlary-Smith will meet with business owners and their supporters to talk about the challenges faced locally as they work on recovering and rebuilding after the recent floods.

“We know that this is a shock small businesses did not need. I urge small business owners who have found themselves in a dispute as a result of the floods to contact the Victorian Small Business Commission (VSBC) for help,” Commissioner McAlary-Smith said.

Commissioner McAlary-Smith will talk about the kinds of commercial disputes the VSBC can help resolve – from disagreements over repairing loss and damage under a retail lease to situations where a customer is refusing to pay their small business supplier for goods or services they’ve provided.

”Of all disputes that come to the VSBC, we resolve more than one third early on, often just by providing free help over the phone.”

If the matter can’t be sorted this way, the VSBC can arrange a low-cost mediation session online. This is where an independent mediator helps the people in the dispute to negotiate a fair outcome – without the need for court.

Commissioner McAlary-Smith will meet with a range of stakeholders, including local small business owners, Rural City of Wangaratta, Mitchell Business Network, Business Wangaratta, Business Wodonga and the Albury Wodonga chapter of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Commissioner McAlary-Smith will be available for interview in Mitchell Shire and Rural City of Wangaratta on 21 February 2023 and City of Wodonga on 22 February 2023. For media enquiries, contact Chris Harris on 0436 698 132 or at christine.harris@vsbc.vic.gov.au.