Home Small business support Small business friendly councils
Small business support

Small business friendly councils

A partnership between councils and the Victorian Small Business Commission

We’re rolling out our Small Business Friendly Council (SBFC) initiative in partnership with local councils to provide small business owners with the support they need to do business.

The Small Business Friendly Charter  outlines  shared goals  for the Victorian Small Business Commission (VSBC) and participating local councils in working together to create a fair and competitive trading environment for small businesses. When signing the Charter, local councils are making important commitments including to:

Read about what these Charter commitments look like in practice.

Councils that have made the small business friendly pledge

Currently, the 65 councils that have signed up to the initiative are:

  • City of Yarra
  • Glen Eira City Council
  • Northern Grampians Shire Council
  • Corangamite Shire
  • Baw Baw Shire Council
  • Latrobe City Council
  • City of Wodonga
  • Gannawarra Shire Council
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • City of Kingston
  • Yarra Ranges Council
  • Wyndham City
  • City of Casey
  • Frankston City Council
  • South Gippsland Shire Council
  • Moreland City Council
  • Hepburn Shire Council
  • Ararat Rural City Council
  • City of Greater Bendigo
  • Greater Shepparton City Council
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council
  • City of Greater Dandenong
  • Pyrenees Shire Council
  • City of Whittlesea
  • Buloke Shire Council
  • Bass Coast Shire Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Melton City Council
  • Manningham Council
  • City of Greater Geelong
  • Colac Otway Shire
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Loddon Shire Council
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • City of Melbourne
  • Knox City Council
  • City of Ballarat
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council
  • Bayside City Council
  • Moorabool Shire Council
  • Glenelg Shire Council
  • Moira Shire Council
  • Banyule City Council
  • Horsham Rural City Council
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council
  • Hindmarsh Shire Council
  • Borough of Queenscliffe
  • Golden Plains Shire Council
  • West Wimmera Shire Council
  • Maroondah City Council
  • Monash Council
  • Darebin City Council
  • Southern Grampians Shire Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Strathbogie Shire Council
  • Indigo Shire Council
  • Campaspe Shire Council
  • Port Phillip Council
  • Wellington Shire Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • Moyne Shire Council.

As we keep rolling out the initiative across Victoria, we encourage all councils to follow their lead.

More information

If you have any questions about the Small Business Friendly Council initiative, email us.


Related information